idweb banner

Please note: the 2013 calendar is listed below for reference only. PRISE 2014 dates are tentatively set for Wednesday, June 4 - Thursday, August 14.

PRISE and the Summer Research Village 2013 Calendar

WEEKLY ACTIVITIES
Meditation, Mondays, 8:30-9:30pm
Hip Hop Dance Studio, Tuesdays, 9:00-10:00pm
Coffeehouse, Tuesdays, 10:00-11:00pm
Bhangra, Wednesdays, 8:00-9:00pm
Religion and Science Discussion, Wednesdays, 9:00-10:00pm
Physics Journal Club, Wednesdays, 9:00-10:00pm
Defenders of the Village, Saturdays, 10:00-11:30am
IgNobel Science Journal Club, Saturdays, 10:30am-12:00pm
PRISE-Mobile, Sundays 10:00-11:00pm, and Tuesdays, 8:00-9:00pm
Science/Nature Journal Club, Sundays, 11:00am-1:00pm Software Tutorial, Sundays, 1:00-3:00pm Badminton, Sundays, 3:00-4:00pm

WEEK 0
Wednesday, June 5: Fellows check-in, 6-9pm
Thursday, June 6: Fellows check-in, 9am-9pm 
Friday, June 7: Fellows check-in, 9-12noon
Friday, June 7: Orientation lunch and Opening activities, 12:00pm, Mather Courtyard
Friday, June 7: Inaugural dinner, 6:00pm, Dudley House (Distinguished Speaker Series: Professor Emeritus Dudley Herschbach)
Saturday, June 8: PBPS Activities hosted by the PAs, to be announced
Sunday, June 9: PBPS Activities hosted by the PAs, to be announced

WEEK I
Monday, June 10: First Dudley House dinner, 6:00-8:00pm, Dudley House
Tuesday, June 11: Science and social activities planning groups, 8:30pm, JCR 
Thursday, June 13, Distinguished Speaker Series: Professor Noam Elkies, 8:00pm, Dudley House Dining Hall
Friday, June 14: "In the Heights," Boston Center for the Arts, 8:00pm
Saturday, June 15: On the water: "Godzilla," or Boston Duck Tours, 2:00pm

WEEK II
Monday, June 17: Responsible Conduct in Research training seminar, 7:45pm, Science Center 'C'
Tuesday, June 18: Science and social activities presentations, 8:00pm, JCR
Thursday, 20: Distinguished Speaker Series: Professor Xiao-Li Meng, 7:30pm, Tsai Auditorium, CGIS-South
Thursday, June 19: Science and Social activities scheduling, 9:00pm, JCR
Sunday, June 23: Boston Arboretum Tour
Sunday, June 23: Party Rockers in the House, 1:00pm, JCR
Sunday, June 23: Chinatown Discovery

WEEK III
Monday, June 24: Harvard i-Lab dinner and presentation, 6:30pm, HBS (DINING HALL CLOSED)
Wednesday, June 26: Harvard GSAS Graduate School Panel and Fair, 3:00pm, Dudley House Dining Hall
Wednesday, June 26: All-campus undergraduate research barbecue, 6:00pm, Cambridge Queen's Head Pub (LIMITED DINING HALL SERVICE)
Thursday, June 27: Distinguished Speaker Series: Professor Hopi Hoekstra, 7:30pm, Sever Hall 113
Friday, June 28: Stress Relief Study Break, 8:00pm, JCR
Saturday, June 29: Waldon Pond Bike Trip
Saturday, June 29: Tennis Tournament
Sunday, June 30:  Boston Red Sox vs. Toronto Blue Jays, 1:30pm, Fenway Park

WEEK IV
Monday, July 1: Professional Development Series: BLISS Special Guest After-Dinner Chat with Dr. James Cartreine, 6:30pm, Dudley House Lounge (upstairs)
Thursday, July 4: HOLIDAY (DINING HALL CLOSED)
Friday, July 5: Taza Chocolate Facotory Tour and Chocolate-making Workshop
Saturday, July 6: Salem, MA tour
Saturday, July 6: New Hampshire Kayaking trip
Sunday, July 7: Chowderfest, 11:00am, JCR
Sunday, July 7: Middlesex Fells Day Hike
Sunday, July 7: Junkyard Wars, 3:00pm, JCR

WEEK V
Monday, July 8: Professional Development Series: Special Guest Dinner Chat Daniel Rudoy (Patent Attorney), 6:00pm, Dudley House Dining Hall
Monday, July 8: Professional Development Series Screening of “Naturally Obsessed,” 7:45pm, Harvard Hall 201
Thursday, July 11: Distinguished Speaker Series: Dr. Scott Kominers, 7:30pm, Sever Hall 113
Friday, July 12: Institute of Contemporary Art
Friday, July 12: Salasa Night, 9:00pm, Mather House Dining Hall
Saturday, July 13: Paintball!
Saturday, July 13: Roger Williams Zoo/Providence Waterfire
Saturday, July 13: Harbor Island/Night Sky Watch
Sunday, July 14: PBPS Whale Watch excursion
Sunday, July 14: Dumpling Workshop, 3:00pm, Mather JCR

WEEK VI
Monday, July 15: Professional development series: Applying for fellowships, national honors, and research funding, 7:30pm, Fong Auditorium (CGIS-South)
Wednesday, July 17: PBPS Puzzle Night
Thursday, July 18: Distinguished Speaker Series: Professor Daniel Lieberman, 7:30pm, Sever Hall 113
Friday, July 19: Liquid Nitrogen Ice Cream Party
Saturday, July 20: Tie Dye, 1:00pm, Mather House Courtyard
Saturday, July 20: Revere Beach Trip
Sunday, July 21: CS Mini Session, 10:00am, JCR
Sunday, July 21: Medieval Melee
Sunday, July 21, Physics/Chemistry of Cookie Making
Sunday, July 21, Presidential Day

WEEK VII
Monday, July 22: Professional Development Series: Professional Development Series: Special Guest Dinner Chat with Jaqueline Ashmore (Director of Projects and Planning for the Union of Concerned Scientists), 6:00pm, Dudley House Dining Hall Wednesday, July 24: The Physics of Bowling
Thursday, July 25: Distinguished Speaker Series: Professor Lene Hau, 7:30pm, Sever Hall 113
Friday, July 26: Studio pARTy
Saturday, July 27: Six Flags Trip
Saturday, July 27: PBPS Knowledge Bowl, 5:00pm, Mather House Dining Hall
Sunday, July 28: Fruit picking
Sunday, July 28: Harvard Forest excursion
Sunday, July 28: Water Balloon Fight

WEEK VIII
Monday, July 29: Professional Development Series: The Art of Public Speaking for Researchers, 7:45pm, Emerson Hall 105
Thursday, August 1: Distinguished Speaker Series: Professor Alyssa Goodman, 7:30pm, Sever Hall 113
Saturday, August 3: Cape Cod Environmental Study
Saturday, August 3: Party Rockers in Da Gym
Saturday, August 3: Special PRISE Alumni Event, Dudley House
Sunday, August 4: Tanglewood
Sunday, August 4: HSURV's Got Talent, 8:00pm, Mather House Dining Hall

WEEK IX
Monday, August 5: Presentation practicum , 7:30pm Dudley House
Thursday, August 8: Distinguished Speaker Series: Professor Shah Khoshbin, 7:30pm, Sever Hall 113
Saturday, August 10: Freedom Trail Run, 10:00am, JCR
Saturday, August 10: PBPS Formal, 8:00pm, Dudley House Dining Hall
Sunday, August 11: Flapjack Flippers, 10:00am, Mather House Dining Hall
Sunday, August 11: PBPS Chamber Concert, 7:30pm

WEEK X
Monday, August 12: Presentations, 2:30-5:30pm, Science Center
Tuesday, August 13: Presentations, 2:30-5:30pm, Science Center
Tuesday, August 13: Special 'Thank You' Dinner, 5:30-9:00pm, Dudley House Dining Hall
Wednesday, August 14: Presentations, 2:30-5:30pm, Maxwell Dworkin
Thursday, August 15: Closing Dinner, 6:00pm, NWLabs Atrium
Friday, August 16: Check-out, 10:00am-5:00pm
Saturday, August 17: Check-out, 10:00am-5:00pm